Jump to content
Cover for Black Tom's Red Army
Isbn: 978-87-2686-973-6
Publisher: Saga Egmont
Category:
Novels Romance
Accessible since: December 2021
Narrator: Paul Mclaughlin
Length: 14 hours 2 minutes

Audiobook

Black Tom's Red Army

The deciding Battle of Naseby looms on the horizon in this historical adventure of the English Civil War.

It is more than a year since printer’s apprentice turned Parliamentarian soldier William Sparrow and his Royalist rival Hugo Telling last came to blows. Parliament’s armies, bruised beaten and humiliated despite their ever-increasing numerical advantage, have been reconstituted as the New Model Army. Sparrow, a veteran of a dozen battles, sieges and scrapes, expects to be offered a commission in ‘Black Tom’s Red Army’ – but his past has caught up with him.

As the political and religious divides which have convulsed the country for three years grow more bitter by the day, the New Model Army heads north to challenge the King’s field army, commanded by the brilliant but dangerously compulsive Prince Rupert. Two worlds will collide at Naseby, where history will be made...

The final thrilling instalment of The Shadow on the Crown series, Black Tom’s Red Army is perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and David Gilman.

Shadow on the Crown author Nicholas Carter is based in the West Country and has been working on his English Civil War series – on and off – for more than 30 years. A writer and journalist since leaving school, Nicholas says joining the Sealed Knot gave him priceless insights into the period – and says many of the events and characters in the books are inspired by his experiences re-enacting battles from the Scottish Highlands to Cornwall. 
In addition to his English Civil war series Nicholas has written two novels based on the Italian Wars and also penned a brace of steampunk fantasy novels. He is working on volume seven of the Shadow on the Crown – Forlorn Hope – plotting the New Model Army's siege of Bristol.

Listen to sample
Log in to borrow

Information

Log in to borrow this title and view current loan status.
Read more here How to borrow

Supported platforms

PC/Mac

Smartphone